Republican Tom Reed Won’t Join The 125 Who Signed Andy Bigg’s Adam Schiff Censure

As of today, there are 125 Republican members of the House of Representatives who have cosigned onto Freedom Caucus Chairman U.S. Rep. Andy Biggs’ (R) House resolution to condemn and censure House Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff (D) for the parody he read in his opening statement in the hearing on September 26, 2019, of the phone call between President Trump and Ukrainian President Zelensky. Mike Emanuel from Fox News tweeted the latest:

#FoxNews -125 House Members are now Co-Sponsoring Congressman Andy Biggs’ Motion to Condemn and Censure Chairman Adam Schiff.


However, one Republican member of the House, U.S. Rep. Tom Reed (R)  is declining to sign on to the motion. In a statement he issued to PBS station WSKG, he stated that censure is a serious act and shouldn’t be done to score political points. He called some of Schiff’s overall rhetoric “dangerous” and “divisive”. He is a Trump supporter and opposes the impeachment inquiry nevertheless. It’s hard to say what more would be needed for him to sign on as Schiff’s indiscretions are being scorned upon by a larger and larger group of congressmen.

With 125 members of the house signing the motion, it is still getting traction and we will see who else signs on as this all moves forward.

See Below for a Full list of those who have signed on in support:

  1. Kevin McCarthy
  2. Steve Scalise
  3. Liz Cheney
  4. Tom Emmer
  5. Mark Meadows
  6. Jim Jordan
  7. Matt Gaetz
  8. Mark Walker
  9. Elise Stefanik
  10. Doug Collins
  11. Mike Rogers
  12. Steve Womack
  13. Jim Sensenbrenner
  14. Mike Johnson
  15. Gary Palmer
  16. Mark Green
  17. Jeff Duncan
  18. Mo Brooks
  19. Scott Perry
  20. Greg Steube
  21. Guy Reschenthaler
  22. Rick Crawford
  23. Michael Burgess, M.D.
  24. Paul Gosar
  25. Bill Posey
  26. Warren Davidson
  27. Bob Gibbs
  28. Jody Hice
  29. Ralph Norman
  30. Ron Wright
  31. Louie Gohmert
  32. Lance Gooden
  33. Ralph Abraham
  34. Jim Banks
  35. Daniel Meuser
  36. Bill Flores
  37. Randy Weber
  38. Tim Burchett
  39. Dan Bishop
  40. Daniel Webster
  41. Michael Cloud
  42. Doug Lamborn
  43. Fred Keller
  44. Brian Babin
  45. Bradley Byrne
  46. Bill Johnson
  47. Larry Bucshon
  48. Ted Budd
  49. Steve King
  50. Buddy Carter
  51. Debbie Lesko
  52. Scott DesJarlais
  53. Chuck Fleischmann
  54. Roger Marshall, M.D.
  55. Drew Ferguson
  56. Steven Palazzo
  57. Bruce Westerman
  58. Troy Balderson
  59. Steve Watkins
  60. Chris Stewart
  61. Greg Murphy
  62. Greg Gianforte
  63. Ben Cline
  64. Denver Riggleman
  65. Mike Kelly
  66. William Timmons
  67. Don Bacon
  68. Lee Zeldin
  69. James Comer
  70. Rick Allen
  71. Roger Williams
  72. John Joyce
  73. Steve Stivers
  74. Duncan Hunter
  75. Kevin Hern
  76. Jason Smith
  77. Russ Fulcher
  78. Paul Mitchell
  79. John Rose
  80. Ross Spano
  81. John Rutherford
  82. David McKinley
  83. Kelly Armstrong
  84. Brian Mast
  85. Billy Long
  86. David Schweikert
  87. Jodey Arrington
  88. Alex Mooney
  89. David Rouzer
  90. Ron Estes
  91. Austin Scott
  92. Richard Hudson
  93. Barry Loudermilk
  94. Chip Roy
  95. Michael Waltz
  96. Blaine Luetkemeyer
  97. Vicky Hartzler
  98. Jim Hagedorn
  99. Scott Tipton
  100. Lloyd Smucker
  101. Pete Olson
  102. Brad Wenstrup
  103. Andy Harris
  104. Adrian Smith
  105. Anthony Gonzalez
  106. Jack Bergman
  107. John Carter
  108. Darin LaHood
  109.  Mike Bost
  110.  Patrick McHenry
  111.  Tim Walberg
  112. Clay Higgins
  113. Kevin Brady
  114. Neal Dunn
  115. Sam Graves
  116. Glenn Thompson
  117. Ted Yoho
  118. Dan Newhouse
  119. Amata Radewagen
  120. Gus Bilirakis
  121. Rob Bishop
  122. David Kustoff
  123. Dan Crenshaw
  124. Markwayne Mullin
  125. Doug LaMalfa

Two other Representatives from Reed’s state are indeed on the list though, including Lee Zeldin and Elise Stefanik. Zeldin recently reacted to Rep. Matt Gaetz (R) being ejected from a closed-door House Intelligence Committee impeachment hearing for not being part of the committee. Zeldin also called Schiff “a liar and a leaker” according to Fox News. reported on the Tom Reed dissent more here. They said in part:

Schiff spoke about the censure activity during a recent visit to Cornell University.

Rep. Adam Schiff (left) and former Rep. Steve Israel (right) at Cornell University, October 10, 2019. (Photo: Celia Clarke/WSKG Public Radio)

“You know, the attacks will come with my position,” the California Democrat said. “But, none of it is a substitute for the hard questions the Republicans are going to have to ask which is, are they going to continue to defend this president no matter how dangerous and unethical his conduct may be.”

Not supporting the censure is the Southern Tier’s Tom Reed.

In a statement to WSKG, the Republican said that censure is a serious act and shouldn’t be done to score political points. He called some of Schiff’s overall rhetoric “dangerous” and “divisive”.

Reed has long been a Trump supporter and opposes the impeachment inquiry. He says he hasn’t seen anything so far to justify it.

The list is likely to grow and it remains to be seen if Reed will face any backlash from his former Republicans. It could be that Reed is trying not to disrupt his rapport with some of his more moderate constituents as is often the case when party lines are bucked like this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *